.

Mayor Responds to Recall Charges

Chiaverotti answers critics who have filed a recall petition against her, defending the city's stance in the Parkland Mall case and the decision to not allow a referendum in the lake park purchase.

The following is a letter Muskego Patch received from Mayor Kathy Chiaverotti, who is the target of a recall effort along with Aldermen Keith Harenda and Neome Schaumberg.

The citizens and voters of Muskego are smart. They understand we have representative government and that recalls are not the democratic process but merely obstruct city work.

The City's legal counsel presented to the Common Council that the was not the proper subject matter. Therefore the Council was not bound to referendum. The petition also asked for a park development plan and costs associated. The Council recognized this and delayed the decision to before a final vote contingent on the property owner’s agreement. We are waiting response from the property owners.

All communications with regard to Parkland Mall litigation are done through legal counsel in closed session as to protect the interests of the City/public. The alderpersons have been fully informed of the allegations and the issues in the case through closed session updates.  The petitions are vague and unfounded in alleging there has been any kind of suppression.

The City’s positions have been represented through the City’s defense counsel in defending the case and the City awaits further opportunities set by the court to further respond to the allegations.  We are still in active litigation strongly defending against claims made by the Parkland Mall plaintiffs.

The City is working within the confines of court orders governing the litigation including orders for mediation and any current or future orders which would address opportunities for dismissal.

Efforts by this recall group and efforts of the Parkland Mall Plaintiffs are all meant to manipulate the litigation in favor of their private interests and as against the City’s/public’s interest.  It appears based on the information expressed by the recall group that confidential information discussed only in closed session has somehow become available.  It’s unreasonable to assert that information has been withheld from alderpersons when all the court proceedings, both federal and state, have been public and multiple; extensive, closed sessions have been held at which in depth of the litigation process and results have been presented.

The Parkland Mall Plaintiffs presented claims that sought as much as $120M at one point and the current demands continue to be extreme.  When the aldermen are speaking outside their authority of the Council with respect to the litigation then such action or statements can lead to additional allegations of liability against the City and publics best interest.

The Parkland Mall Plaintiffs are suing the city for matters involving alleged prior statements by former City officials.  Efforts to engender further unauthorized statements or actions are simply meant to manipulate the litigation to draw liability against the City in favor of their private interests.

JS March 30, 2012 at 05:49 PM
She's so cute when she's angry
The Anti-Alinsky March 30, 2012 at 10:01 PM
Mike Brandt, Elizabeth Tews and Deb Bolton are all showing their Liberal colors by trying to recall our duly elected officials.
SBR March 31, 2012 at 01:23 AM
Mike Brandt is a lot of things... Liberal is not one of them.
STAND-UP-MUSKEGO March 31, 2012 at 01:47 AM
TRUE CONSERVATIVES DO NOT SUPPORT FRIVOLOUS AND BASELESS RECALLS!!! Whether these individuals know it or not they are doing the bidding of Art Dyer and those who will back up the money truck to resolve the Parkland Mall issue. Not very conservative when they are talking about paying over 5 times what the property is worth in a good market and putting the city in the development game. This includes three alderman who have been negotiating and communicating with Mr. Dyer, jeopardizing the cities lawsuit and putting the city and the tax payers at serious risk, including the risk of losing our cities insurance coverage.
The Anti-Alinsky March 31, 2012 at 01:50 AM
mike, you are so clever. So why is Mike Brandt heading a recall effort? I know Mr. Brandt only by reputation, and prior to this move I would have classify him as neither a Liberal or Conservative. Simply somebody who doesn't want to spend tax money on anything. Somebody who would rather see our streets deteriorate rather than to spend money to fix them. Same goes for parks, schools and utilities. However, since he has now taken an "I know better than you" and "the rest of the citizens in this community are wrong" attitude, he has thrown himself off to the left with the Walker recallers. The other two I don't know about, but since they have taken on the mantle of recall organizer like Mike Brandt, they qualify as Liberals. Don't like the Liberal label? Then Stop the recall nonsense and run someone capable for office. Not a tax evader or egomaniac.
Marguerite Ingold March 31, 2012 at 04:07 AM
Tree farms and preservation areas!!!!!!! Totally unusable by the common citizen. Give me a nice clean lake and a park to enjoy it with anytime! You guys toss the millions around like they are nothing. 120 million for a big nothing and you are worried about 3.5 mil, (Chump change!) Besides anyone who says these things are secret should attend the council meetings and keep up on things. I didn't see any of you there for the other things. Only until you thought it might affect YOU! Guess what, look to the north to our neighbor New Berlin and see what they had to worry about last year. Affordable housing!! Now doesn't a Park look much better to you. Thanks to our vigilant "elected" politicians we have dodged that bullet, for now anyway. Think about it , we have just lost one of our biggest, if not the biggest Mfg'ng company from our Chamber of Commerce. Impro was a great and generous benefactor for our community. Their dropping out was for multiple reasons but one was being scorned and laughed at after speeches in favor of "Progress" in our city at council meetings. I was there I know, and I didn't see many of you there either, except to harass and complain. I agree with Anti-alinsky. Stop the recall nonsense, wait for the vote, and act like adults and not spoiled children.
Gregory Kluck March 31, 2012 at 12:11 PM
Having worked on the Christmas tree farm in Illinois years ago, I can say that plugging pine trees into the ground through crumbling asphalt does not a tree farm make. Maybe it's time for Muskego to exercise eminent domain. If it were truly a farm, those trees would be taller and fuller. Being a farm would mean that actual husbandry would be occurring. As it stands, it's an abandoned farm technically. Recalls are just time and money wasters. Now that some folks have had a taste of it, they salivate every time an elected official does something someone doesn't like. If you don't like a politician, run for that office or campaign for someone who is running that you support.
thomas l. ralston March 31, 2012 at 03:23 PM
Dear Mr. Kluck, thank you for educating those who may not know that much about forestry. As an owner of managed woodland myself, it is particularly galling that Mr. Dyer has taken advantage of tax incentives offered to wood producers to avoid his real tax liability. Whoever approved his property as woodland should be fired.
Nate D. March 31, 2012 at 04:53 PM
"The citizens and voters of Muskego are smart. They understand we have representative government and that recalls are not the democratic process but merely obstruct city work." I assume this statement would also apply to state recalls. So if this is how she feels, why would she put someone on the council who is trying to recall Walker? Is she looking to put people who 'obstruct' on the city council. She is so dumb. Even when she tries to think something through and put pen to paper she still comes off as a moron.
Simple Bacon March 31, 2012 at 07:35 PM
C'mon Anti, you used to be fun... Now this is what you have left? Consider that est. 1,800 muskego residents signed the Walker petition and est. 3,400 residents of Muskego signed the petition asking for a referendum on the lake park. I think it's easy enough to see who the liberals are by their association with the Walker Pettion. Not many liberals were left out of that list. I don't see any of the folks you've called out on the Walker list however I do see a few of your group in there. So, are they liberals too? And what does that have to do with the recall at hand? Not to mention that the Mayor has supoprters that were involved in the last Muskego recall of a mayor. This isn't something new to Muskego. Were you up in arms when Demaske got recalled? Were those people just simply "showing their liberal colors"? Stick to the issues and leave the name calling to the more insane on this blog. If anyone is interested just to a quick google search on the names of the people opposing the muskego recall. To get you started here's one: http://news.google.com/newspapers?id=dCcqAAAAIBAJ&sjid=HUUEAAAAIBAJ&pg=5489%2C928073 BTW, not only did some of these guys support the recall of a "duly elected" official but thier names are on the Walker recall. One name that was a petition circulator. He didn't sign it he just got others to sign: http://images.iverifytherecall.com/images/sw/sw091073.png So, who are the liberals in this town and what does it matter?
SBR March 31, 2012 at 08:49 PM
One signed the petition and the other donated over $1000 to democrats the last two years and $500 to Barrett. Which is worse? Funding liberal propaganda or signing a petition?
The Anti-Alinsky March 31, 2012 at 10:22 PM
Hey Bacon, you know who else didn't sign the recall? Cathy Chiaverotti, Neome Schaumberg and Keith Werner. I have to work with recall signers everyday. I know who they are. I know they signed. Does that mean they aren't capable of doing their job? Of course not. One of the recall signers is the best at his job I have ever seen. Away from work I let him know how wrongful and wasteful this recall is. Do you know why the recall of Governor Walker is legal but WRONG? Because he didn't do anything WRONG. He didn't do anything illegal, unethical or immoral. Do you know why these attempted recalls are WRONG? Because Cathy Chiaverotti, Neome Schaumberg and Keith Werner didn't do anything WRONG. They didn't do anything illegal, unethical or immoral. See where I am going with this? Just because you don't agree with a elected officials policies or voting record, it doesn't mean you should recall them out of office. NONE of these three violated any laws. NONE of these three abused their authority. NONE of these three lied or said or did anything out of line. You want to compare these recall attempts to Damaske's? Which of these abused their office to fulfill a personal vendetta? (none) Which of these three appeared before a circuit court judge for assault? (none) How many were chastised by that circuit court judge? (none) I will say it clearly. Starting a recall because you don't agree with the politics of someone is a LIBERAL move.
The Anti-Alinsky April 01, 2012 at 12:44 AM
Mike Brandt, Elizabeth Tews and Deb Bolton are all showing their Liberal colors by trying to recall our duly elected officials.
Dr. Jim April 01, 2012 at 03:37 PM
What kind of a world would this be if everyone thought the same way? Nothing would every change and life would truly be boring. I am well into my 50's and can not recall one time in my life when everyone agreed nor do I recall so much hate and just plan meanness because of it. What is wrong with everyone, thank God this is America and we all have the RIGHT to our own opinions and choices. Next the bullies out there will want to through people in jail for not agreeing with them. One last thing Just for clarification........... Madden signed the recall Jansen signed the recall and that attorney you all seem to love so much gave the democrats $1150.00 Sounds like a lot of democrats or maybe just good old fashion Nonpartisan! There is no right or wrong just a difference of opinion, we ALL need to spend more time discussing and reasoning with each other not pointing blame and trying to force our opinion on others. This is getting ridiculous! We are not a dictatorship, we are a small town in southeastern WI trying to do the best we can. Lets move on!
Marguerite Ingold April 01, 2012 at 03:41 PM
Nate D Believe me there wasn't much to pick from. Very few want the job lately. Wonder why? I know because I was there when the picking happened. (where were you?) This is a learning curve to this job, you know(or maybe not) and it was most espedient to pick some who had experience of being alderman before. Were you aware that she was the former alderman for that district? (maybe not). I do I don't sign things like and and am not happy with signers. It is their right, I guess, I just feel sorry for thme, they are so misguided. As my email to Mark Belling reads, Kathy is one of the most conservative people I know and he should stop listening to the poisonous phones call, , emails and other misinformation he is being fed by people with nothing else to do. Very surprised and disapponted by that. What do you think would have happened if the recall signing came out had come out that night. There would have been a real ruckus. Again I know this because I was there.(where were you). I am a little confused about your comment, you sounded so good when you quoted our mayor and then you fell apart . Don't exactly know where you fit in the picture..For nothing and against everything. Evidently since you live in Muskego.
Nate D. April 01, 2012 at 07:29 PM
Kathy is one of the most conservative people you know? Do you live under a rock? Did you pay any attention to her tax and spend record while an alderwomen or during her short time on the County Board. She never voted against new spending...never. She is far from conservative. I know that because I was at County Board meetings and witnessed it....where were you? You either do not know what it means to be a conservative or you are simply trying to mislead everyone.
The Anti-Alinsky April 01, 2012 at 10:46 PM
OK Nate, so you're the expert on Conservatism now? Tell me, exactly what does it mean to be conservative?
The Anti-Alinsky April 01, 2012 at 10:47 PM
I would never consider Chiaverotti the MOST Conservative person I know, but I wouldn't toss her into the Liberal camp. For one thing, I don't think she would start a frivolous recall drive just because some city leaders didn't have the same political views.
Marguerite Ingold April 02, 2012 at 06:15 PM
Hey Nate D. Conservatism means lower taxes and less government and don't know about you but last time I looked we in Muskego were half that equation. It's hard being on anyone's side lately in Muskego
Nate D. April 02, 2012 at 06:59 PM
C'mon...lets be honest here. First, the only reason Muskego's taxes did not go up was because of Scott Walker. Period. End of story. Our mayor and/or council had nothing to do with that. Any locally elected official trying to take credit for that fact is lying to you. Second, when she was on the council a decade or so ago she sponsored multiple budgets with double digit tax increases. Third, when she was on the county board she used the taxpayer like an ATM voting for things as ridiculous as $30 some million for a new HHS building and taj mahal bathrooms in county parks to the tune of $800,000 per toilet. Can you honestly say someone with that record is "the most conservative person you know"? Or maybe you didn't know those things, in which case, feel free to adjust your world view a bit. She has a record and she needs to own it. It is hilarious that some people come on here and tirelessly try to convince everyone she is some Paul Ryan conservative when that proposition is simply laughable......and they know it. But, Muskego votes conservative so if you want to be elected you have to at least appear that way and make that case...no matter of insanely weak that case is. I get that, but at the same time it is an insult to everyone's intelligence an an affront to honest debate and disagreement. When you start with a false proposition (her being a conservative) it is impossible to advance the discussion past that point because you are starting with a falsehood.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »