.

Muskego Chamber Exec Comes Under Fire from Mark Belling

Afternoon talk host makes Muskego organization a target after learning that executive director signed a Walker recall petition. Was it that slow of a news day?

Apparently someone has it in for the Chamber of Commerce in Muskego. Otherwise it escapes me why someone would take the time to comb through Walker recall signatures to tell radio host Mark Belling, who occupies a chair at the WISN 1130 studios from 3 to 6 p.m., to tattle on Executive Director Tina Weiss.

Apparently, Weiss signed a recall petition around the time she was hired on at the Chamber of Commerce last year. Oh, the horror.

His point was that the chamber is a conservative, pro-business organization, and Weiss' action of signing a petition to recall Walker is in direct opposition to promoting business growth.

Belling's rant, in which he called Weiss a "crybaby weinie lefty" also included several "stupids" when referring to Weiss. He also used the phrase 'runs the chamber' in describing her position, which isn't entirely correct, either. She reports to the chamber's board of directors, and cannot operate independently of it.

I am a conservative, but not everything is about politics. Weiss told Patch that she didn't feel her signature on the petition would've mattered in her job at the chamber, and no one asked in her interviews what her political leanings were. (Probably because it's unethical to do so.)

First-hand accounts of working with Weiss have shown her to be very skilled in social media, something that the chamber was in need of when she came on board, and all her efforts with the chamber have been pro-business.

Since then, I know that any business on social media sites are promoted, events are talked up, and the work she has done in putting together the second annual Jammin on Janesville (along with coordinators Tammie Brings and Cassandra Wurster) have elevated the events to a level of sophistication that will help keep it a signature of Muskego's summers for many years to come.

I don't find her to be political in the least, and I would ask anyone in a union job if they were to lose their position because they voted for a contrary candidate if that would be right, or even legal.

Perhaps what annoys me the most is that it's likely Belling has never been to Muskego. (Fun fact: WISN was also not sure where to find the potential lake park a month ago, so they called me for directions. Wow. I'm surprised they didn't end up in Mukwonago...you know, we sound so much alike.) He has also never really talked to the people he has denigrated, and probably is pretty proud of the fact that numerous malicious phone calls and emails resulted from his show.

The lead-in posted on the WISN website to the topics he covered is also telling. "Muskego official signs recall petition" it reads. However, Weiss is not elected, does not serve in political office (hence not an "official") and isn't even a voting member of the chamber board. She is an employee. Whoever felt the need to "narc" on her might want to consider what it would feel like if you were asked at work who you voted for and if you signed any petitions.

And to those "brave and anonymous" callers and e-mailers to the Chamber of Commerce who called Weiss names I can't mention here, isn't there a game of 'ding dong ditch-it' that you could be playing?

Denise Konkol (Editor) March 19, 2012 at 09:56 PM
We have and we are....we posted a story on the Harenda-Dyer letter (http://muskego.patch.com/articles/could-muskego-s-lake-park-end-up-at-parkland-mall-site) about 3 weeks ago, and ran a story when Borgman filed a claim against the city (http://muskego.patch.com/articles/muskego-alderman-files-claim-against-city). His case is due in court in the next month or so.
TosaFair March 19, 2012 at 09:56 PM
I find it odd that this editor is trying very hard to hide Tina Weiss behind her apron. Very cozy relationship there. Muskego can do better that these two.
Denise Konkol (Editor) March 19, 2012 at 09:58 PM
I will need a ton more information on what you're talking about with Suzi Link. People tend to 'know' things, but then can't seem to give me any specifics.
Denise Konkol (Editor) March 19, 2012 at 10:00 PM
You are an exception, then. Others have called and emailed - and Belling has demanded - that she be fired, resign - whatever. You are correct, this has me angry, and I don't like writing that way. It does disturb me what people are trying to do with this petition, though. Not what it was intended to do.
Denise Konkol (Editor) March 19, 2012 at 10:03 PM
It shouldn't be. I didn't sign it. And technically the only thing I can do politically is vote, and I'm OK with that.
The Truth Muskego March 19, 2012 at 10:08 PM
She filed a lawsuit against the city as well. Almost word for word with Borgman's. And her husband tried the same thing. It's available under open records.
Stubby March 20, 2012 at 03:25 AM
Denise, you wrote, "...and Belling has demanded - that she be fired, resign - whatever.". Then, you wrote, "People tend to 'know' things, but then can't seem to give me any specifics". Belling gives his listeners information about things that aren't covered in the Patch, Journal Sentinel, or local TV. I didn't hear him demand that Tina be fired "or whatever". Did you actually hear that yourself, or are you relying on hearsay to make that statement? It's possible I missed it. Anyway, who cares? Why do you care if Belling wants her fired (I'm still not convinced he advocated for a firing "or whatever")? Belling has no "vote" in whether Tina says employed or not at the business oriented Chamber of Commerce. It's up to the people in Muskego. If Belling hadn't spent any time on Tina's signature, should I expect that the Patch would cover it? Highly doubtful, but it's impossible to prove a negative concept. It's one thing to cast a private vote for Barrett. It's a totally different thing to sign a public document requesting that the GAB spend over $9 MILLION (their own estimate) for the statewide recall, rather than spend that same $9 for other purposes such as grants to cities like Muskego for tangible things that will benefit everybody. Voting for Barrett is simply a liberal expressing his opinion. Signing a recall for Walker is an arguably extreme measure compared to casting a vote for Barrett, wouldn't you say?
Sue Manson March 20, 2012 at 03:36 AM
GOOD POINT STUBBY.
Suzi Gives Me Violent Diarrhea March 20, 2012 at 03:36 AM
Where did you get the name Stubby from? I'm just curious. Did you lose your member somehow?
Sue Manson March 20, 2012 at 03:37 AM
I WOULD FLAG THAT AS INAPPROPRIATE BUT DAMN THAT WAS FUN-NEE!
Suzi Gives Me Violent Diarrhea March 20, 2012 at 03:40 AM
Well, I think it's a fair question. It's not everyday you see someone referring to themselves as Stubby.
Sue Manson March 20, 2012 at 03:42 AM
THAT IS TRUE. THAT TAKES GUTS SAYING THAT. MOST MEN OVER-EXAGGERATE THE SIZE OF THEIR MEMBER. AT LEAST THAT IS MY TAKE ON THINGS.
Stubby March 20, 2012 at 12:22 PM
"Stubby" is variant of my other moniker, StubbornOldMan on other blogging sites. Perhaps you've heard of me. I'm quite a legend. ;) So much for trying to have a dialogue about stuff like this. I was hoping to have some of the issues I raised in my original post discussed by other (look out, here comes a double entrendre again...) members on this site. You women disappoint me. Try again. There, I answered your question. Answer mine. Now, GET OFF MY LAWN! ;)
John Doe March 20, 2012 at 03:04 PM
Sorry here's the profile that was posted before she updated it: "I AM ALSO..." means you work there still! https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?hl=en&gbv=2&gs_sm=3&gs_upl=1622l7332l0l7582l23l23l0l14l14l0l172l687l7.1l8l0&q=cache:F2kAQEko4xcJ:http://www.linkedin.com/in/denisekonkol+denise+konkol+linked+in&ct=clnk
John Doe March 20, 2012 at 03:08 PM
Sorry here's the one that was psted before she updated it: "I AM ALSO..." means you work there still https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?hl=en&gbv=2&gs_sm=3&gs_upl=1622l7332l0l7582l23l23l0l14l14l0l172l687l7.1l8l0&q=cache:F2kAQEko4xcJ:http://www.linkedin.com/in/denisekonkol+denise+konkol+linked+in&ct=clnk
Stubby March 20, 2012 at 11:14 PM
I hope Denise is not ignoring me. I'm curious to read her response to my critique of her work.
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:21 AM
Aaron, Let's both make a mark on this day in our calendars--WE AGREE ON THIS ONE. Ms. Weiss is a private employee of an (arguably) private special interest group. Belling (sp?) is entitled to his own opinion, but this is truely between her and her bosses, so why don't we actually talk about issues which affect the other 90% of Musekgo.
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:29 AM
Denise, That is because the people who claim to "know things" about me are generally very proficent at FICTION. If I had to try to read thier tiny little minds, I suspect that they are making reference to the fact that, because my husband and I OPTED OUT of Wisconsin's maritial property laws (a legal process I will not bother to explain) we had legally "separate assets" distroyed by the City of Muskego, so we each initially filed our own separate "small claims" actions (a practice with mixed case-law to support it). The Court Commissioner combined my case with my husband's a number of months ago. That is my best guess for whatever the e-thugs are accusing me of. Please feel free to contact me with any questions (if "THEY" ever come up with any other fiction they want to accuse me of.)
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:39 AM
To "the truth muskego" I recognize you now. You are one of the two men who verbally assaulted me after the "country club Common Council meeting". As I tried in vain to tell you, the reason that the cases are "essentially word-for-word the same" IS BECAUSE BOTH CASES ARE ABOUT THE EXACT SAME EVENT AND THE EXACT SAME FACTS. You told (or should I say ranted at) me that you 'did not want to know why they were the same". You only cared that they were "almost word for word the same." I am sorry if this explanation is too simple for you, but most people in Muskego should have no problem understanding or accepting this explaination. PS. Again, try to stay on topic.....thes rants, insinuations and distortions are really pointless.
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:43 AM
FOR PURPOSES OF CLAIRIFICATION, THE POSTING BY "SUZI MANSON" SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED AS ORIGINATING WITH ME. Regardless of my husband's name, MY POSTS ARE ALWAYS SIGNED "SUZI LINK" I APPOLOGIZE TO ANYONE CONFUSED BY THIS FEBLE ATTEMPT TO IMPERSONATE ME.
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:47 AM
To "Suzi gives me violent Diarrhea" I had no idea that you had 'experienced ' my cooking, and can only reccomend that you immediately seek medical assistance. There are other professionals you should also probably consult to try to deal with your anger- and reality-based issues.
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:47 AM
FOR PURPOSES OF CLAIRIFICATION, THE POSTING BY "SUZI MANSON" SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED AS ORIGINATING WITH ME. Regardless of my husband's name, MY POSTS ARE ALWAYS SIGNED "SUZI LINK" I APPOLOGIZE TO ANYONE CONFUSED BY THIS FEBLE ATTEMPT TO IMPERSONATE ME.
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:50 AM
FOR PURPOSES OF CLAIRIFICATION, THE POSTING BY "SUZI MANSON" SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED AS ORIGINATING WITH ME. Regardless of my husband's name, MY POSTS ARE ALWAYS SIGNED "SUZI LINK" I APPOLOGIZE TO ANYONE CONFUSED BY THIS FEBLE ATTEMPT TO IMPERSONATE ME. or to misreprent my opinions or morals,
Suzi Link March 22, 2012 at 02:51 AM
FOR PURPOSES OF CLAIRIFICATION, (and sorry about the redundancy) THE POSTING BY "SUZI MANSON" SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED AS ORIGINATING WITH ME. Regardless of my husband's name, MY POSTS ARE ALWAYS SIGNED "SUZI LINK" I APPOLOGIZE TO ANYONE CONFUSED BY THIS FEBLE ATTEMPT TO IMPERSONATE ME.
Aaron S. Robertson, MSM March 22, 2012 at 03:05 AM
See, and whoever said we couldn't find agreement on something? Thanks, Suzi. Yeah, it has absolutely nothing to do with her ability to carry out her duties in this position.
Rick Petfalski March 22, 2012 at 03:11 AM
Suzy, Lol! Now that was a GREAT response! I'm still laughing and it hurts when I laugh! Happy cooking.
Simple Bacon March 29, 2012 at 04:39 PM
Not to drudge up an old conversation but initially, I saw this as a matter between the Chamber and their members however it has occured to me that at the point the Chamber began excepting money from the City the city residents began to have a stake in the Chamber's leadership.
SBR March 29, 2012 at 04:45 PM
Under that argument, does the citizens have a stake in the leadership if Veolia, Engineering firms and other firms we pay money to? Kind of a stretch.
Suzi Link March 29, 2012 at 05:21 PM
As a point of clairification, if the Chamber of Commerce continues to recieve the amount of funding from the City that it received in 2011, you are technically correct. There are laws (at least at the state, and I believe at the federal level) that stitpulate that "private" orgainizations receiving a subsantial amount of government funding on a sustained basis become "public", and therefore subject to open meeting and open records statutes. Until there is a consistant level of tax fund subsidy, the Chamber is still a private group, but that could change. If they want more of our money on a sustained basis (such as to pay for "Jammin' on Janesville"), they will have to open thier books and answer to use. Time will tell.
Muskego Business Owner April 01, 2012 at 07:36 PM
As a Muskego Business Owner I agree full heartedly with the views expressed by Mr. Belling. It is a talk show that obviously is going to be dominated by his views. Agree with them or not, it is his show. You don't like him or his views, then "cast your vote" by switching the radio station. I do not agree with resorting to name calling and i believe that the word "stupid" was utilized in reference to the action of signing the petition and not Weiss as an individual. Tina Weiss sent out a statement following this discovery that made NO apologies for her actions, but simply stated the good that she has done for the Chamber of Commerce. There is no level of "good" that she has done, nor could do, that will remove the egg on her face for signing a petition to recall Scott Walker. The point isn't even that she feels he should be recalled, but rather a question of her ability to make "wise decisions." She should have had the good sense to recognize that business owners would be up in arms when this tidbit of information was revealed. Yes, she is NOT an elected official. However, she was hired by the Chamber of Commerce board who has received quite a bit of back lash from concerned business owners. There are ways that members of the chamber can and will "vote." Simply put, when there is a huge DIP in membership renewals, the board will hear the members "vote." So don't think because someone is not an elected official they are not accountable for their actions.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »