Merit Semi Finalist, AP Scholars Named at MHS

Senior Nathan Gelle chosen from approximate 1.5 million entrants as a semi finalist for national scholarship program, and 74 students have earned AP awards

Muskego High School senior Nathan Gelle has been named a National Merit Semifinalist. He is one of 16,000 Semifinalists in the 58th annual national Merit Scholarship Program.

High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year and by meeting published program entry/participation requirements.

Gelle will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.


In addition, 74 students at Muskego High School have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program provides students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. 

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

At Muskego High School:  Six students - Alex Hanna, Ryan Johnson-Evers, Nicholas Klinka, Sebastian Miller, Nicholas Spoerk and Jacob Varsos -qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average score of 4 or higher on a 5-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.  

Twenty-three students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.  These students are: Aaron Beczkiewicz, Joseph Blommel, Taylor Cesarz, Kristen Furry, Alex Hanna, Ryan Johnson-Evers, Kyle Kaja, Kaitlyn Kamperschroer, Nicholas Klinka, Jiaqi Li, Paige Liberski, Ashley Manske, Rachel Matson, Sebastian Miller, Samuel Owen, Jared Pradarelli, Keighley Reisenauer, Michelle Roubik, Jon Scott, Nicholas Spoerk, Ana Spone, Jacob Varsos and Lauren Wundrock.

Twenty-one students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.  These students are:  Graham Ambrose, Amanda Bourbonais, Tyler Dotzler, Joseph Egan, Kayla Farner, Alexander Feuling, Katelyn Gehrke, Maxwell Goebl, Rebecca Horwath, Paul Hurlbut, Alex Kocher, Margaret Ludwig, Melissa Mason, Kylie Reese, Megan Rogahn, Abigail Schilz, Christina Tersine, Nicholas Tretow, Alexander Wallner, Rachel Wegener and Lauren Williquette.

Thirty students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP exams, with scores of 3 or higher.  The AP Scholars are: Chelsea Arndt, Mary Beckman, Elizabeth Drenzek, Alexis Drifka, Kathryn Erickson, Jeffrey Glisch, Jacob Goebl, Benjamin Hlavacek, Andrew Holten, Kristen Kaiser, Bryan Kubel, Alyssa Leidel, Jayme Lepak, Anne Li, Zachary Matusinec, Bradley Mayer, Kayla Muza, Andrea Pileggi, Allan Prichard, Emily Rapp, Kaitlyn Rinka, Angela Schulist, Natalie Sobierajski, Kelly Spoerk, Haley Steiner, Samantha Stovich, Cody Swendrowski, Amy Upthagrove, Nathan Weis and Jennifer Wolf.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »